Which ECMAScript 6 features imply strict mode?

In ECMAScript 5 (aka JavaScript,) I can trigger strict mode by adding "use strict" at the top of my function (or file, but this is discouraged.)

I understand that in ECMAScript 6, certain syntax features will turn on strict mode, especially class, and modules (however you do those.)

In the ECMAScript 6 world, what is the complete list of ways to trigger strict mode?



The spec says:

  • Module code is always strict mode code.
  • All parts of a ClassDeclaration or a ClassExpression are strict mode code.

The rest are just the known things from ES5, basically every global/eval/function code that begins with the "use strict"; directive. It does work within the new ES6 function kinds (arrow, generator, method syntax) as well.


Recent Questions

Top Questions

Home Tags Terms of Service Privacy Policy DMCA Contact Us

©2020 All rights reserved.